F O C A C C I A


Focaccia is a simple, hearty Italian bread—with its fluffy, airy interior and crispy crust, it is incredibly versatile! Focaccia can be sliced into lengthwise strips and enjoyed on its own with some olive oil, paired with a soup or pasta, or it can be used to make delicious sandwiches.

RECIPES

As a relatively new baker, I set out on my focaccia journey with the following recipe:

https://alexandracooks.com/2018/03/02/overnight-refrigerator-focaccia-best-focaccia/

My first focaccia did not taste or look great. Here are some issues I encountered:

  • The first type of yeast I bought was active dry (which needs to be activated by mixing with warm water). I made several attempts to activate this yeast and was ultimately unable (the mixture is supposed to start to look “foamy” after 15 minutes or so). For me it was much easier to use instant yeast instead.
  • The final product was tough/hard to chew, pretty dense, and the flavor was kind of weird. I think the issues with the texture were due to:
    • Not being precise with measuring the ingredients (I just used measuring cups and spoons)
    • During the second rise, I think I didn’t cover the pan well enough because the focaccia developed a thin “crust” before I even baked it

The second recipe that I attempted was MUCH more successful:

https://www.emmafontanella.com/no-knead-focaccia

Changes I made:

  • I bought a cheap kitchen scale from Walmart (linked below) and precisely measured out all the ingredients. I think this is what made a big difference in getting the texture right.
  • I switched from using a bread flour to using an Italian finely ground “00” flour (linked below)
  • During the final proof, I made sure to cover the pan containing the dough WELL in order to retain moisture/prevent it from drying out
  • The texture and height of this second focaccia was so much better! It was very soft and the dough was very airy/had lots of bubbles after the overnight rise in the fridge. I think the key difference was the rounds of “stretches and folds” that this recipe calls for. 
  • I had some fun with the toppings (rosemary, Maldon sea salt flakes, green olives)

SANDWICHES

Here is my favorite sandwich to make using focaccia bread:

Ingredients

  • Beefsteak/Slicer or Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Mozzarella cheese (if in Italy, Mozzarella di Bufala) or Burrata
  • Basil

I recommend drizzling the inside of the sandwich with olive oil before assembling with the rest of the ingredients. This sandwich can be made vegetarian, or to make it extra special, you can include a cured meat of your choosing such as Prosciutto Crudo San Daniele.

LINKS


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started